Toews and Kane Snubbed For The Hart Trophy

By Keith Schultz

Jan 10, 2012; Chicago, IL, USA; Chicago Blackhawks left wing

Viktor Stalberg

(25) is congratulated by right wing

Patrick Kane

(88) and center

Jonathan Toews

(19) for scoring a goal against the Columbus Blue Jackets during the second period at the United Center. Mandatory Credit: Rob Grabowski-USA TODAY Sports

The drought will continue for at least another year. Jonathan Toews and Patrick Kane names were both not one of the three finalist during  the official announcement for the Hart Trophy forNHL League MVP.

Patrick Kane 23 goals 32 assists 55 points +17 rating

Jonathan Toews- 23 goals 25 assists 48 points +28 rating

Great statistics and leadership from both players on a team by the way that finished with the best record in the NHL.

The three finalist are Sidney Crosby, Alex Ovechkin, and John Tavares.  I’m not saying all three aren’t worthy of being finalists but either Kane or Toews or both should have been part of this announcement today.

The last Blackhawk to win the Hart trophy was Stan Mikita in 1968 which seem almost unbelievable with all the great players that have worn the Hawks sweater since the late 1960’s that no other Blackhawk has won the Hart trophy.

One thing that could work out  for the Blackhawks and their fans is the added incentive of winning the Cup after these two did not get selected for the Hart trophy. Kane’s start to the season and Toews end of the season all added up to one of the best regular seasons in team history, and now they are three series away from making it one the top 5 post-seasons in Blackhawks history!

What do you think of the Toews and Kane getting snubbed?

For more Blackhawks conversation follow us on Blackhawk_Up or Friend us on Facebook.