Lady Byng Trophy Preview- Patrick Kane Finalist

By Keith Schultz

Jun 12, 2013; Chicago, IL, USA; Chicago Blackhawks right wing Patrick Kane (88) is hit by Boston Bruins defenseman Johnny Boychuk (55) during the first overtime period in game one of the 2013 Stanley Cup Final at the United Center. Mandatory Credit: Scott Stewart-USA TODAY Sports

The appetizer for Game #2of the Stanley Cup Finals is the NHL Awards Presentation.  The Lady Byng Trophy will be one of the trophies that will be handed out Friday night by the NHL.

LADY BYNG MEMORIAL TROPHY (Best sportsmanship, gentlemanly conduct and ability)

Patrick KaneChicago Blackhawks

Matt MoulsonNew York Islanders

Martin St. LouisTampa Bay Lightning

Seven different Blackhawks have won the award on eight occasions.  Here is a list of the Blackhawks winners.

Stan Mikita (2) — 1967-68, 1966-67
Bobby Hull — 1964-65
Kenny Wharram — 1963-64
Bill Mosienko — 1944-45
Clint Smith — 1943-44
Max Bentley — 1942-43
Doc Romnes — 1935-36

Now comes Patrick Kane who will be trying to be the first Blackhawk to win the award since the 60’s and Stan Mikita.  Kane only collected 8 penalty minutes while accumulating 23 goals and 32 assists.  Kane is up against Martin St. Louis who has won this award twice already during his career.

The Winner is…….. I want to Pick Kaner, but this may be the only thing with the name St Louis that wins something in 2013.

What is your prediction for the Lady Byng trophy?

For more Blackhawks updates and conversation follow us on Twitter @Blackhawk_up or Like our new Facebook page Blackhawkup.