NHL Realignment: New Division Names Recommendations

By Keith Schultz

Jun 28, 2013; Chicago, IL, USA; Chicago Blackhawks legend Bobby Hull during the 2013 Stanley Cup championship celebration at Grant Park. Mandatory Credit: Rob Grabowski-USA TODAY Sports

There are rumors that the 2013-2014 NHL schedule will be released sometime next week, I would think an official Olympic announcement will have to be announced before a schedule release.  Another rumor rumbling with the schedule release is that the Divisions will be named at this time which will have to be better than A,B,C,D or I,II,III,IV

Since there is no official word on the new division name we have four suggestions for the new divisions when they could be announced with next seasons schedule.

Division A Teams will become the Wayne Gretzky Division.

Anaheim Ducks

Calgary Flames

Edmonton Oilers

Los Angeles Kings

Phoenix Coyotes

San Jose Sharks

Vancouver Canucks

Division B will become the Bobby Hull Division

Chicago Blackhawks

Colorado Avalanche

Dallas Stars

Minnesota Wild

Nashville Predators

St. Louis Blues

Winnipeg Jets

Division C will become the Gordie Howe Division

Boston Bruins

Buffalo Sabres

Detroit Red Wings

Florida Panthers

Montreal Canadians

Ottawa Senators

Tampa Bay Lightning

Toronto Maple Leafs

Division D will become the Mario Lemieux

Carolina Hurricanes

Columbus Blue Jackets

New Jersey Devils

New York Islanders

New York Rangers

Philadelphia Flyers

Pittsburgh Penguins

Washington Capitals

Wayne Gretzky, Gordie Howe, Bobby Hull, and Mario Lemieux are all-time greats from different generations, old and not so old.  All four are in the top 16 of goals scored all-time while playing in different eras.

What do you think? What is your Division names ideas?

For more Blackhawks conversation follow us on Twitter @Blackhawk_Up or Like our Facebook page at Blackhawkup.