Blackhawks News

Denis Savard Days Until Banner Raising

By Keith Schultz

Denis Savard #18 Chicago Blackhawks (picture courtesy of

#18 When you think of #18 only one Blackhawk comes to mind and that of course is Denis Savard. Savard played with the Blackhawks twice once as one of the most exciting player in the NHL from 1981-1990 and than for his farewell tour from 1994-1997.

Savard was the 3rd pick overall by the Chicago Blackhawks in the 1980 NHL Draft. Savard is one of the most exciting offensive players to ever wear the Blackhawks jersey.  To me he is the Spin-o-Rama and every player that does the move does it to honor #18.

Savard played in 881 games for the Blackhawks and ranks third all-time in points with 1,096 trailing only Stan Mikita and Bobby Hull all-time on the Blackhawks all-time list.  He’s second in Blackhawks history in the assist category with 719 trailing only Mikita.

Savard’s #18 will never be worn again after it was retired on March 19, 1998. Savard ranks 22nd all-time in NHL scoring while ranking 12th all-time in Stanley Cup Playoff scoring.  Savard was traded to the Montreal Canadiens in 1990 for Chris Chelios and was able to win the 1993 Stanley Cup with Montreal to complete his career.

After retiring he was a Blackhawks assistant coach for 9 seasons before becoming the head coach in 2006.  In his two short seasons as coach, Savard was able to mold the very young talents of the Hawks current core from Jonathan Toews, Patrick Kane, Duncan Keith and Brent Seabrook.  Savard was relieved of his coaching duties very early in the 2008 season and was replaced by current coach Joel Quenneville. Savard wasn’t without a title for long, #18 was named Blackhawks ambassador on November 13, 2008.

There were quite a few Blackhawks that wore #18 before Savard

Edward Leier (1951)
Ray Powell (1951)
Pat Lundy (1951)
Jim McFadden (1952-1954)
Jim McBurney (1953)
Paul Masnick (1955)
Norm Corcoran (1956)
Ken Mosdell (1957)
Phil Maloney (1959-1960)
Howie Glover (1959)
Wayne Hillman (1961-1965)
Chico Maki (1961-1962)
Len Lunde (1963-1966)
John McKenzie (1964-1965)
Fred Stanfield (1966-1967)
Billy Dea (1967)
Paul Terbenche (1968)
Andre Boudrias (1969)
Gerry Pinder (1970-1971)
Andre Lacroix (1972)
Moe L’Abbe (1973)
Brian Ogilvie (1973)
Darcy Rota (1974-1979)
Greg Fox (1979-1980)

No one after Savard played ever wore #18 , and now #18 hangs from the rafters at United Center, and only 18 days from now Stanley Cup banner #5 will be its new neighbor!

For more Blackhawks conversation follow us on Twitter @Blackhawk_Up or Like our Facebook page Blackhawkup.