Blackhawks News

Chicago Blackhawks Jonathan Toews A Selke Trophy Finalist

By Sean Fitzgerald

Apr 23, 2014; Chicago, IL, USA; Chicago Blackhawks center Jonathan Toews (19) controls the puck against the St. Louis Blues during the first period in game four of the first round of the 2014 Stanley Cup Playoffs at United Center. Mandatory Credit: Jerry Lai-USA TODAY Sports

The NHL has announced the Finalists for the Selke Trophy The 2014 finalists are Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins, Anze Kopitar of the Los Angeles Kings and Jonathan Toews of the Chicago Blackhawks.

The Selke Trophy was present in 1977 by the National Hoceky League Board of Governors in honor of Frank J. Selke. Selke was a nine time Stanley Cup champion with the Toronto Maple Leafs and Montreal Canadiens.

The Members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association submitted ballots for the Selke Trophy at the conclusion of the regular season.  The winner will be announced on Tuesday June 24th during the NHL awards in Las Vegas.

Patrice Bergeron: Boston Bruins

Bergeron lead the NHL in face-off wins with 1,015. He had a career high +38 rating on the season and is a Selke Trophy finalists for third year in row. He won the award in 2012 and was runner in 2013 to Jonathan Toews. Bergeron’s Bruins finished with best defensive record in the NHL and they won the President’s trophy.

Anze Kopitar: Los Angeles Kings

Kopitar appeared in all 82 games this season and logged more ice time than everyone NHL forward expect Sidney Crosby. He had a plus minus rating of+ 34 on the season. He logged the most shorthanded time among the top’s 30 scorers.  Kopitar is also the first King in Franchise History nominated for the Selke Trophy.

Jonathan Toews: Chicago Blackhawks

Toews was fifth in the NHL in both face-off wins and percentage in taking 1,544 draws. He topped all Chicago forwards in average ice time (20:28) and was a +26 rating on the season. That also includes a +7 rating against the top teams in the west: Anaheim, Colorado, St. Louis, and San Jose. Toews is a Selke finalist for the third time in four years. He is currently the defending Selke award winner.

The Blackhawks faithful are happy to see Toews nominated again, however, we are wondering why Marian Hossa was left off the list. Hossa is consistently one of the best two way forwards in the NHL. My thoughts on the matter is that he could get less recognition because he plays on the same team as Toews and sometimes the same line.

Thank you for visiting Blackhawk up prides itself on providing original Blackhawks content. If you want up to the minute Blackhawks information you can like us on Face book. You can also follow us on Twitter @Blackhawk_up