Blackhawks News

2014 NHL Awards Ceremony Breakdown

By Josh Brink
1 of 5

NHL Awards (Photo courtesy of

So had you forgot about hockey yet? Well you can’t because the 2014 NHL Awards Ceremony takes place tonight in Las Vegas at the Encore Theater which is located within the Wynn Las Vegas. The 2014 NHL Award Ceremony takes place at 7:00 PM ET and will honor the elite of the league this past season. If watching from your television you can catch it on NBC Sports Network or on computer/mobile device with NBC Live Extra. Below is a listing of the different awards up for grabs, who votes for the awards, and the players in the running. I have also included the favorite for each award.

Hart Memorial Trophy (MVP)

Created: 1924

Voted by: Professional Hockey Writers’ Association poll in all NHL cities at the end of the regular season

Given to: the league’s most valuable player

2014 In the running: Sidney Crosby – Pittsburgh Penguins, Ryan Getzlaf – Anaheim Ducks, Claude Giroux – Philadelphia Flyers, Joe Pavelski – San Jose Sharks

Favorite: Sidney Crosby for his second since 2007. Healthy Crosby equals productive and dominate Crosby.

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (Gentlemanly Play)

Created: 1925

Voted by: Professional Hockey Writers’ Association poll at the end of the regular season

Given to: the player who exhibited outstanding sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability

2014 In the running: Patrick Marleau – San Jose Sharks, Ryan O’Reilly – Colorado Avalanche, Martin St. Louis – New York Rangers

Favorite: Ryan O’Reilly only had 1 minor penalty and talk about minor, it was for playing with a broken stick