Blackhawks News

2014 NHL Awards Ceremony Breakdown

By Josh Brink
2 of 5

Jun 24, 2013; Boston, MA, USA; Boston Bruins goalie Tuukka Rask (40) makes a save against Chicago Blackhawks center Jonathan Toews (19) during the second period in game six of the 2013 Stanley Cup Final at TD Garden. Mandatory Credit: Michael Ivins-USA TODAY Sports

Vezina Trophy (Goalie)

Created: 1927

Voted by: NHL General Managers

Given to: the league’s top goaltender

2014 In the running: Semyon Varlamov – Colorado Avalanche, Tuukka Rask – Boston Bruins boasted the Ben Bishop – Tampa Bay

Favorite: Tuukka Rask had 2.04 GAA and .930 SV% which led them into the playoffs as a favorite contender

Calder Memorial Trophy (Rookie)

Created: 1937

Voted by: Professional Hockey Writers’ Association poll in all NHL cities at the end of the regular season

Given to: the league’s most outstanding rookie player

2014 In the running: Tyler Johnson – Tampa Bay Lightning, Nathan MacKinnon – Colorado Avalanche, Ondrej Palat – Tampa Bay Lightning, Jacob Trouba

Favorite: Nathan MacKinnon basically all rookie stats with 29 goals and 34 assists for 63 points he should walk away with it.