2014 NHL Awards Ceremony Breakdown

By Josh Brink
3 of 5

James Norris Memorial Trophy (Defenseman)

Created: 1954

Voted by: Professional Hockey Writers’ Association poll in all NHL cities at the end of the regular season

Given to: the defenseman who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position

2014 In the running: Duncan Keith – Chicago Blackhawks, Erik Karlsson – Ottawa Senators, Shea Weber – Nashville Predators

Favorite: Duncan Keith was the best all-around but Shea Weber stealing it away is possible with the points he put up.

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (Perseverance)

Created: 1968

Voted by: all chapters of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association poll at the end of the regular season

Given to: the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey

2014 In the running: Jaromir Jagr – New Jersey Devils, Manny Malhotra – Carolina Hurricanes, Dominic Moore – New York Rangers

Favorite: Jaromir Jagr has done gone above and beyond for every team played for and throughout his entire career, easy choice

Ted Lindsay Award) (Players MVP) (formerly Lester B. Pearson Award)

Created: 1971

Voted by: fellow members of the NHLPA

Given to: the NHL’s outstanding player

2014 In the running: Sidney Crosby – Pittsburgh Penguins, Ryan Getzlaf – Anaheim Ducks, Claude Giroux – Philadelphia Flyers

Favorite: Points don’t lie; Crosby takes this one with the Hart