2014 NHL Awards Ceremony Breakdown

By Josh Brink
4 of 5

Apr 19, 2014; Denver, CO, USA; Colorado Avalanche head coach Patrick Roy reacts towards referee Kevin Pollock (33) in the second period against the Minnesota Wild during game two of the first round of the 2014 Stanley Cup Playoffs at the Pepsi Center. Mandatory Credit: Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

Jack Adams Award (Coach)

Created: 1974

Voted by: NHL Broadcasters’ Association poll at the end of the regular season

Given to: the NHL coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team’s success

2014 In the running: Mike Babcock – Detroit Red Wings, Jon Cooper – Tampa Bay Lightning and Patrick Roy – Colorado Avalanche

Favorite: Patrick Roy tied a franchise record with 52 wins while also serving as the teams unofficial General Manager

Frank J. Selke Trophy (Defensive forward)

Created: 1978

Voted by: Professional Hockey Writers’ Association poll at the end of the regular season

Given to: the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game

2014 In the running: Patrice Bergeron – Boston Bruins, Anze Kopitar – Los Angeles Kings, Jonathan Toews – Chicago Blackhawks

Favorite: Patrice Bergeron probably will edge this award due to his league leading 1,015 faceoff wins but Jonathan Toews will be close behind with Anze Kopitar

NHL Foundation Award

Created: 1998

Voted by: NHL Foundation

Given to: the player who applies the core values of hockey to enrich the lives of people in his community

2014 In the running: Brent Burns – San Jose Sharks, Patrice Bergeron – Boston Bruins, Duncan Keith – Chicago Blackhawks

Favorite: Too hard to choose