89 Days Until The Blackhawks Season Opener

By Keith Schultz

May 21, 2014; Chicago, IL, USA; A general shot of a monument outside the United Center prior to game two of the Western Conference Final of the 2014 Stanley Cup Playoffs between the Chicago Blackhawks and the Los Angeles Kings. Mandatory Credit: Dennis Wierzbicki-USA TODAY Sports

We had so much fun doing our Countdown to Faceoff series last season that we decided to do it again.  In case you’re new to the series, we’ll do a roster preview as we count down the days until the Chicago Blackhawks  October 9th season opener against the Dallas Stars.

We are officially in the 80’s in our countdown to the Blackhawks season opener.  No Chicago Blackhawks has ever wore #89 but we all know what tomorrow will be bringing us in jersey numbers! Today we will look at Blackhawks all-time penalty minutes in the regular season and the playoffs.

Regular Season Penalty Minutes

  1. Chris Chelios-1,495
  2. Keith Magnunson-1,442
  3. Al Secord-1,426
  4. Dave Manson-1,332
  5. Phillip Russell-1,288
  6. Stan Mikita-1,270
  7. Bob Probert-1,210
  8. Pierre Pilote-1,205
  9. Eric Nesterenko-1,012
  10. Denis Savard– 1,005

Playoff Penalty Minutes

  1. Al Secord-266
  2. Denis Savard-209
  3. Dave Manson- 203
  4. Keith Brown-184
  5. Stan Mikita-169
  6. Keith Magnunson-164
  7. Chris Chelios-133
  8. Phillip Russell-132
  9. Adam Creighton-113
  10. Troy Murray-112

I think the biggest surprise when looking at this list is that Denis Savard is on both lists, What do you think of the list and what is your surprises?

Be on the lookout for our Countdown to Faceoff series as we continue to work our way to the season opener on October 9th. We’re 93 days from the season opener.  Is it October yet???

For more Blackhawks updates and conversation follow us on Twitter @Blackhawk_Up or Like our Facebook page at Blackhawkup