Jonathan Toews Named Finalist For Mark Messier Leadership Award

By Keith Schultz

Jonathan Toews has been the leader of the Chicago Blackhawks since he was given the Captaincy way back in 2008.  He’s been a tremendous leader for the Chicago Blackhawks organization and along with Patrick Kane one of the two face of the franchise since arriving in Chicago in 2007.

Today, Jonathan Toews was named a finalist for the Mark Messier Leadership Award along with the Winnipeg Jets Andrew Ladd, and the Anaheim Ducks Ryan Getzlaf.   The Award goes to the, Individual who leads by positive example through on-ice performance, motivation of team members and a dedication to community activities and charitable causes.

This of course isn’t an award that has been passed on for a century like the Stanley Cup or been an award that has been presented for decades like the Hart trophy so it’s not the most prestigious trophy, but it’s the only trophy with a name on it that is from a player I watched play that was the ultimate leader especially back in 1994 when he led the New York Rangers to the Stanley Cup after guaranteeing a win in the Conference Finals.

The award has been around since 2007 and an ex-Chicago Blackhawks star actually won the first Mark Messier Leadership Award and his name is Chris Chelios.  The other winners of the award is as follows

2008-Mats Sundin Toronto Maple Leafs

2009-Jarome Iginla Calgary Flames

2010-Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh Penguins

2011-Zdeno Chara Boston Bruins

2012-Shane Doan Phoenix Coyotes

2013-Daniel Alfredsson Ottawa Senators

2014-Dustin Brown LA Kings

The history isn’t long, but some really good players have won the award, but it is sort of surprising that a player by the nickname Captain Serious hasn’t been handed this award yet during his career.

Toews has led a franchise from one of the worst era’s in team history to one of the greatest moments any team can imagine circling the ice with the Stanley Cup.

Jonathan Toews may never score enough points to be considered for the Hart Trophy, but he’s been the Chicago Blackhawks MVP for years now especially with his leadership (Which is part of the Award’s title)

This year may not been one of the Captain’s favorite years from a point aspect or winning and losing, but he was the leader through thick and thin and when the chips are down like they felt in Game #2 against the Minnesota Wild there was the Captain only scoring a shorthanded goal to kick off the scoring!

Congrats Jonathan Toews on being named a Finalist!

For more Chicago Blackhawks updates and conversation follow us on Twitter @Blackhawk_Up or Like our Facebook page at Blackhawkup.

More from Blackhawk Up