Blackhawks News

Chicago Blackhawks Andrew Shaw Head-butt goal

By Sean Fitzgerald
facebooktwitterreddit

May 19, 2015; Anaheim, CA, USA; Chicago Blackhawks center Andrew Shaw (65) headbutts the puck into the net past Anaheim Ducks defenseman Francois Beauchemin (23) and goalie Frederik Andersen (31) during the second overtime period in game two of the Western Conference Final of the 2015 Stanley Cup Playoffs at Honda Center. Mandatory Credit: Kelvin Kuo-USA TODAY Sports

The Blackhawks knew the saying going into tonight game. The saying goes, “A series does not begin until a Home team loses a game”. After being beaten 4-1 in the Western Conference final opener, the Blackhawks were hungry for a Game Two victory. It would take a WHILE but the Blackhawks would eventually get the job done. Game 2 resulted in the longest game in Blackhawks franchise history.

Last night the game would go through two full overtimes and most of a third overtime before the Blackhawks emerged victorious. Marcus Kruger scored the game winner at 16:12 of the third overtime. This was the second “goal” the Blackhawks scored in overtime. The first “goal” was scored  by Andrew Shaw in double overtime. Shaw is known for his re-directions in big moments. Shaw scored the game’s first goal on a redirection and made the phrase “ I love you shin pads” iconic in Chicago. So when Shaw head-butted the puck in the head during double overtime, everyone thought it was a goal. Shaw and the Blackhawks celebrated, the red light came on and the refs on the ice said “goal”.

Alas the Refs then went to the war room in Toronto and found out that it was not in fact a good goal. This decision drew the IRE of EVERY sleepy Blackhawks fan. It was in fact not allowed by the NHL rules. NHL rule 78.5 states “you can’t direct, bat, or throw a puck into the net with something other than a stick”. Sadly that includes Shaw’s head.  So you cannot head-butt in a goal. You can also not head-butt another player. NHL rule 48 states that “Head-butting: A double  minor penalty shall be assessed to any player who attempts to head-butt an opponent”. To be fair, if you asked anyone before last night’s game what was more likely to happen, Shaw head-butting in a goal that was eventually disallowed or head-butting a Duck player in a fit of rage. Everyone would have said that Shaw was most likely to head-butt an another player. Thankfully Shaw did not head-butt anyone in last night’s game, although Corey Perry appeared to be in need of a head-butt.

When Marcus Kruger FINALLY scored the game winner, the head-butter himself Andrew Shaw was on the ice. Now the series is now tied at one a piece. With the Blackhawks wrestling away home ice advantage from the Anaheim Ducks. The Blackhawks should fully expect the United Center to be rocking on Thursday night.

Game three is Thursday night at 8:00 pm central time in Chicago.

facebooktwitterreddit