Jonathan Toews Wins Mark Messier Leadership Award

By Keith Schultz

Jonathan Toews is your 2015 Mark Messier Leadership Award Winner! It couldn’t go to a more deserving player in the NHL! Jonathan Toews is Captain Serious and is the only current NHL Captain playing today that has led his team to three Stanley Cup Championships and has been able to hoist the Cup three times in his career.

The Finalist for the award were Ryan Getzlaf of the Anaheim Ducks and Andrew Ladd of the Winnipeg Jets.  Both players had great seasons and led their teams to the Stanley Cup playoffs, but when the going gets tough, the tough get going and in Game #7 of the Western Conference Finals it was Jonathan Toews leading the Chicago Blackhawks to victory while Getzlaf had nothing left to fire back at him.

If you want to know exactly the definition of the Award here it is: The Mark Messier Leadership Award is a National Hockey League (NHL) award that recognizes an individual as a superior leader within their sport, and as a contributing member of society. The award is given to a player selected by Mark Messier to honor an individual who leads by positive example through on-ice performance, motivation of team members and a dedication to community activities and charitable causes.

The former Award winners are

2007-Chris Chelios

2008-Mats Sundin

2009-Jarome Iginla

2010-Sidney Crosby

2011- Zdeno Chara

2012-Shane Doan

2013-Daniel Alfredsson

2014-Dustin Brown

Anytime you receive an award it’s special, but to have one of the NHL All-Time Great Leaders have his name on the Award in Mark Messier makes this award special, and the fact that Jonathan Toews is getting to be known not just in Chicago, but all over the hockey world as one of the great leaders like Messier is pretty cool and he is very deserving of this award today.

More from Blackhawks News

The greatest moment of leadership in Jonathan Toews career was never seen by cameras or a reporter, it was during the 2013 lockout when the players were all in Chicago and the Captain led team practices and the results are a record that could stand the test of time.  The Chicago Blackhawks went the first 24 games following the 2013 lockout without a mark in the loss column, and they went on to win the Stanley Cup like they did this season.

Most analysts today will say if they had to pick one player to start their franchise today they would pick Toews and it’s because he’s such a great leader, and that leadership was rewarded tonight!

Congrats to Jonathan Toews on being named the 2015 Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award Winner!

More from Blackhawk Up