All Time Blackhawks

Ranking the Chicago Blackhawks Teams of the Past Decade

By Ryan Fedrau
Patrick Kane #88, Jonathan Toews #19, Chicago Blackhawks (Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images)
Patrick Kane #88, Jonathan Toews #19, Chicago Blackhawks (Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images) /
7 of 11

5. 2013-14 Chicago Blackhawks (46-21-15)

The 2013-14 Chicago Blackhawks were coming off of their second Stanley Cup in four seasons. They were looking to be the first team to repeat as champions since the Detroit Red Wings did it in the late 90s.

The Blackhawks would play their second outdoor game, this time winning it against the Pittsburgh Penguins. Joel Quenneville would hit 700 career wins and the franchise would win their 2,500th game.

Duncan Keith had a career year with 55 assists. Corey Crawford and Antti Raanta played amazing in net to help Chicago secure the third seed in the Central Division.

The Blackhawks faced the Blues in the first round of the playoffs. They would go down 2-0 in the series after winning two games by one goal. The team would bounce back and win four straight sending them to the second round.

In the second round, the Blackhawks ran through the Wild in six games. It brought them to the Western Conference Finals for the second year in a row.

Chicago would face the eventual Stanley Cup Champion, L.A. Kings. The Blackhawks won Game 1, but they would lose three straight. At the end of Game 4, Patrick Sharp scored a last-second goal which motivated the team to win Games 5 and 6.

In Game 7, the Blackhawks lost in overtime after Alec Martinez scored from the point. The Martinez goal would also seal Nick Leddy’s fate in Chicago, as the puck was redirected off of Leddy into the net. The Blackhawks wouldn’t repeat as champs, but it gave them motivation for 2015.