All Time Blackhawks

Ranking the Chicago Blackhawks Teams of the Past Decade

By Ryan Fedrau
Patrick Kane #88, Jonathan Toews #19, Chicago Blackhawks (Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images)
Patrick Kane #88, Jonathan Toews #19, Chicago Blackhawks (Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images) /
9 of 11

3. 2014-15 Chicago Blackhawks (48-28-6)

Chicago Blackhawks
Chicago Blackhawks /

The 2014-15 Chicago Blackhawks were coming off of a Game 7 loss in the last year’s Western Conference Finals. They still had the same core players from the 2010 Stanley Cup team and were ready to roll. Patrick Kane and Jonathan Toews both signed seven-year, $10.5M/year contract extensions to stay with the Chicago Blackhawks for the foreseeable future.

Corey Crawford won 32 games while Antti Raanta and Scott Darling helped out in net throughout the season. Darling helped out more during the playoffs.

Jonathan Toews would lead the team in goals, assists, plus/minus, and points. Patrick Kane would get injured right before the trade deadline. He was out until Game 1 of the playoffs. The Blackhawks would bring in Antoine Vermette, Andrew Desjardins, and Kimmo Timonen during the season once Kane got hurt. The injury was a blessing in disguise.

The team battled without star player, Patrick Kane, and finished third in the Central Division. In the playoffs, Kane would come back and play lights out. In Game 1, the Blackhawks fell down 3-0 against Nashville. They would come back and win that game in overtime.

In the Nashville series, Scott Darling and Corey Crawford temporarily swapped roles, with Darling becoming the starter. Crawford ended up winning his job back and the Blackhawks won the series in Game 6.

In the second round, the Blackhawks swept Minnesota. In the Western Conference Finals, the Blackhawks would come back down 3-2 in the series and win the series.

In the Stanley Cup Final, the Blackhawks won Games 1, 3, 5, and 6 to capture their third Stanley Cup in six seasons. That win would cement the Blackhawks’ six-year run as a modern-day dynasty, which is something this fanbase deserved after 49 long years of waiting for one Stanley Cup.