All Time Blackhawks

Chicago Blackhawks: 1990s Mount Rushmore

Chicago Blackhawks (Credit: Jonathan Daniel/Allsport)
Chicago Blackhawks (Credit: Jonathan Daniel/Allsport) /
4 of 6
Chris Chelios, Chicago Blackhawks
Chris Chelios #7, Chicago Blackhawks (Credit: Robert Laberge/Allsport) /

Chris Chelios

There may be more to it than the saying suggests, that defence wins championships, but every team would have loved the steady presence and production of a player like Chris Chelios guarding their blue line.

As Chicago’s captain between 1995-99, Chelios displayed an unmatched mix of grit and skill. Along with the 487 points he achieved throughout his nine years in the organization, he also accumulated 1495 penalty minutes.

Chelios earned a spot on the All-Star team in every season he was with the Blackhawks. He also won the James Norris Memorial Trophy twice, as the best defenceman in the league, while being part of the conversation seemingly every season.

He would go on to enjoy further success, mainly with the Detroit Red Wings, but although he never won a Stanley Cup in Chicago there is no questioning his rightful status as an all-time great with this club.

light. Related Story. What can the Blackhawks expect from Seabrook next season?