Chicago Blackhawks Convention: Some Big Stars Missing

By Keith Schultz

The Chicago Blackhawks convention is this weekend in Chicago, and it will be one big celebration after the Chicago Blackhawks 3rd Stanley Cup in 6 seasons.  The convention has just gotten bigger and bigger each year and it pretty much goes hand in hand with the Chicago Blackhawks success on the ice.

The one thing about the Chicago Blackhawks conventions each season is that pretty much all the stars were there, well except maybe for the first sessions on Saturday morning after a long night of partying by the Chicago Blackhawks stars.

This year some big stars will be missing from the roster.. actually 4 of the 7 Chicago Blackhawks that have been a part of all three Stanley Cups will be missing this coming weekend.  Those stars that will be missing in action during the convention according to the roster released by are Brent Seabrook, Marian Hossa, Duncan Keith, and Niklas Hjalmarsson.  This really seems out of character for the Chicago Blackhawks organization to let 4 of their core players to miss out on the biggest Chicago Blackhawks celebration of the offseason.

Also missing from the Chicago Blackhawks convention roster will be 2 time Stanley Cup Champion Goalie Corey Crawford, and of course the recently traded fan favorites Brandon Saad and Patrick Sharp won’t be around this weekend.

Don’t get me wrong, the two biggest Chicago Blackhawks stars will be there this coming weekend, Jonathan Toews and Patrick Kane, and the roster is full of current and past Chicago Blackhawks fan favorites.   It just seems weird that these four Blackhawks were excused from the Convention weekend. There will be some new faces to the organization at the convention with Trevor Daley, Artem Anisimov, and Marko Dano, so there will be some added excitement to meet the new faces in the organization.

More from Blackhawks News

  1. The list of attendees is as follows:
  2. Jonathan Toews
  3. Patrick Kane
  4. Andrew Shaw
  5. Scott Darling
  6. Trevor Daley
  7. Bryan Bickell
  8. Marko Dano
  9. Andrew Desjardins
  10. Trevor van Riemsdyk
  11. Joakim Nordstrom
  12. Artem Anisimov
  13. Kris Versteeg
  14. David Rundblad
  15. Jeremy Morin
  16. Teuvo Teravainen
  17. Kyle Baun
  18. Ryan Hartman
  19. Vince Hinostroza
  20. Phillip Danault
  21. Mark McNeill
  22. Victor Tikhonov
  23. Nick Schmaltz

The attendees from the past Chicago Blackhawks is as follows

  1. Bobby Hull
  2. Tony Esposito
  3. Steve Larmer
  4. Pierre Pilote
  5. Denis Savard
  6. Dennis Hull
  7. Ed Olczyk
  8. Troy Murray
  9. Eric Nesterenko
  10. Cliff Koroll
  11. Steve Konroyd
  12. Eric Daze
  13. Stu Grimson
  14. Ab McDonald
  15. Pat Stapleton
  16. Murray Bannerman
  17. Phil Russell
  18. Bill White
  19. Grant Mulvey
  20. Jamal Mayers
  21. Jack O’Callahan
  22. Lou Angotti
  23. Bernie Nicholls

So does the 4 big names missing the Convention put a damper on this Chicago Blackhawks Convention and celebration or will it be the same big party without them this weekend?

Next: Toews Advanced Greatness

More from Blackhawk Up