Editorials

Blackhawks: Looking back on Andrew Shaw’s biggest playoff moments

By Justin Klawans
Andrew Shaw #65, Chicago Blackhawks (Photo by Tasos Katopodis/Getty Images)
Andrew Shaw #65, Chicago Blackhawks (Photo by Tasos Katopodis/Getty Images) /
facebooktwitterreddit
3 of 4
Andrew Shaw, Chicago Blackhawks
Andrew Shaw, Chicago Blackhawks (Photo by Victor Decolongon/Getty Images) /

Despite being disallowed, Andrew Shaw still scored one of the most unusual goals in recent memory in the 2015 Western Conference Final.

The Anaheim Ducks became one of the ‘Hawks fiercest opponents in the 2015 Stanley Cup Playoffs, and arguably gave Chicago their toughest challenge that year. The Blackhawks pulled off the Game Seven victory, but one of the biggest moments came via Andrew Shaw in Game Two.

The contest made its way into the second overtime when the Mutt decided to literally use his head to end the game. A rebound from Patrick Kane bounced high into the air, and Shaw headbutted the puck into the net past Ducks goalie Frederick Andersen:

The ‘Hawks had won the game, or so they thought. Unfortunately, the goal was disallowed by the referees, as the puck clearly didn’t enter the net in a legal fashion. Chicago protested the call, but the winning tally was not to be.

Despite this, the ‘goal’ seemed to turn the jets on for the Blackhawks. They outplayed the Ducks for the rest of the game, and finally scored in the third overtime thanks to a goal by Marcus Kruger. The overtime tally would tie the series at 1-1, and the ‘Hawks would not only go on to win the series, but also the Stanley Cup.

While Andrew Shaw might not have gotten on the scoresheet for his headbutt goal, it became one of the most memorable moments of the 2015 Stanley Cup Playoffs, and showed how much of a competitor he was.

This play might not have gotten the glory, but it definitely threw the Anaheim Ducks back on their heels, and it is a play that still sticks in the mind of both Blackhawks’ fans and players alike.

facebooktwitterreddit