The Blackhawks are still the last Presidents’ Trophy winner to get it done

Dave Bolland #36, Chicago Blackhawks (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images)
Dave Bolland #36, Chicago Blackhawks (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images) /

The Chicago Blackhawks won the Presidents’ Trophy in 2013, and they went on to win the Stanley Cup that summer.

The Chicago Blackhawks are still the last perfect Presidents’ Trophy winner as the Colorado Avalanche fell to the Vegas Golden Knights last night in round two. Chicago won the trophy in 2013 and went on to win it all, no team has done that since.

Colorado was one of the most talked-about teams going into the playoffs as they had a depth unparalleled around the league, but even they fell short of winning it all. We have seen super teams like Tampa Bay get swept in round one back in 2019, and they followed that up with a Stanley Cup the next season.

Winning in this league is hard and everyone going into the playoffs is on the same level, no team gets that big of an advantage going into the postseason. Here is the complete list of Presidents’ Trophy Winners in recent years:

More from Blackhawk Up

2021: Colorado Avalanche, 39-13-4, 82 points
2020: Boston Bruins, 44-14-12, 100 points
2019: Tampa Bay Lightning, 62-16-4, 128 points
2018: Nashville Predators, 53-18-11, 117 points
2017: Washington Capitals, 55-19-8, 118 points
2016: Washington Capitals, 56-18-8, 120 points
2015: New York Rangers, 53-22-7, 113 points
2014: Boston Bruins, 54-19-9, 117 points
2013: Chicago Blackhawks, 36-7-5, 77 points

A lot of different teams are on this list, one thing I find interesting is that Boston won the Presidents’ Trophy the following season they lost in the Stanley Cup Final twice. New York and Nashville also did the same thing when it comes to taking the Presidents’ Trophy the year after losing in the final.

The playoffs are hard, and for the Avalanche this is not going to be their final year going on a deep playoff run. It stinks having such a good roster and having some key free agents this summer and now having to wait until the fall for hockey again, but the Avalanche will be back nonetheless.

"Blackhawks: Apparently Brandon Saad is pretty good"

Maybe next season will be the year the Presidents’ Trophy winner gets it done and joins the Blackhawks in an elite group of teams that won it all after being the best during the regular season.